CANUCKSDAILY  /  NHL  /  TRADES

LATEST | NHL make an announcement regarding the 2024 trade deadline

Published September 15, 2023 at 12:45
BY COOPER GODIN

The NHL's 2023-24 season is set to get underway in less than one month and on Friday, we got some new information about one of the league's biggest dates of the year, the trade deadline.

According to TSN's Chris Johnston, the National Hockey League has set this season's trade deadline for Friday, March 8th at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT.

"The NHL's trade deadline has officially been set for 3 p.m. ET on March 8." Johnston said in a post on X.

One thing that is a bit different on trade deadline day in 2024 when compared to previous years is the amount of games being played and the times those games will start at.


The NHL has only scheduled four games for Friday, March 8th, all of which begin well after the trade deadline passes:

- Colorado Avalanche vs Minnesota Wild (9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. MT).
- Arizona Coyotes vs Detroit Red Wings (9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT).
- Anaheim Ducks vs Dallas Stars (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT).
- Seattle Kraken vs Winnipeg Jets (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT).

It'll be interesting to see which names pop up throughout the season and towards the trade deadline as to who's available. There are several players in Canadian markets that are on expiring contract including Mark Scheifele and Connor Hellebuyck of the Winnipeg Jets, as well as Noah Hanifin, Mikael Backlund and Elias Lindholm from the Calgary Flames.

POLL
September 15   |   221 answers
LATEST | NHL make an announcement regarding the 2024 trade deadline

How many trades do you think will occur on March 8th?

10-156830.8 %
16-204620.8 %
20+8136.7 %
See Results2611.8 %
LIST OF POLL
Latest 10 stories