Cale Makar shows unreal sportsmanship and gets a penalty against canceled

Published December 19, 2022 at 7:32 PM
BY FELIP GOSSELIN
     
The most recent Stanley Cup, Norris, and Conn Smythe winner is a hell of a hockey player. Today he showed part of why he's in the top percentile of his sport.

The Avalanche are in New York for a matchup against the Islanders, Cale Makar skated around the net but lost an edge and fell down while Mat Barzal was tracking him down. From the referee's angle, it definitely looked like a penalty that deserved to be called.

Makar immediately went over to the referee to let him know he wasn't tripped. He didn't let him make the call.




The referee ended up hearing him out and ultimately sided with Makar, annulling the penalty. Makar ultimately cost his team a Power Play by doing that, but it'll certainly increase the respect other players around the league already have for him. With actions like these, could Makar end up being a Lady Bing nominee at the end of the year?

image
IS THAT WORTH A BILL MASTERTON NOMINATION?
DECEMBER 19      44 ANSWERS
YES2454.5 %
NO2045.5 %
  LIST OF POLLS
Latest 10 stories