CANUCKSDAILY  /  NHL  /  NEWS

CRAZY | Draisaitl two-hand slashes a referee and may face further consequences

Published March 28, 2023 at 6:14 PM
BY FELIP GOSSELIN

Last night, the Edmonton Oilers competed against the Arizona Coyotes in Arizona and secured a 5-4 victory. However, there was an incident involving Leon Draisaitl that garnered widespread attention.

During the 1st period, Draisaitl and Jack McBain faced off, and McBain's stick made contact with Draisaitl's midsection. In response, Draisaitl swung his stick in an attempt to slash McBain but missed, unintentionally hitting the linesman instead.


Although Draisaitl did not purposely strike the official, he was penalized for slashing. Notably, a comparable event occurred last season when Nate MacKinnon received no supplementary discipline. Therefore, this is likely a non-issue for Draisaitl as well.


POLL
March 28   |   169 answers
CRAZY | Draisaitl two-hand slashes a referee and may face further consequences

Should Draisaitl face supplementary discipline for his actions?

Yes definitely11165.7 %
No5834.3 %
LIST OF POLL
Latest 10 stories