Canada and the United States facing off at the 2016 World Cup of Hockey
Photo credit: The Hockey News

MAJOR | Gary Bettman makes a huge announcement on an upcoming event

Published February 2, 2024 at 10:38

It has been almost eight years since the 2016 World Cup of Hockey, where Canada was crowned champion, led by the likes of Carey Price, Brad Marchand, and Sidney Crosby. That marked the last time a best-on-best tournament has been held featuring NHL players. Rumours of another international best-on-best tournament have circled for years, nothing had come to fruition — until early Friday morning.

Reporter Frank Seravalli confirmed the NHL's plans to announce a four-team international tournament for 2025, hosted in Boston and Montreal. The four nations being represented in this tournament are Canada, Finland, Sweden, and the United States — the consensus top four hockey nations in the world (with the exclusion of Russia due to their ongoing participation ban).

This will mark the first international best-on-best tournament in nearly nine years once it commences. The last time one was held, Connor McDavid had 48 career NHL points, Nathan MacKinnon's single-season career high was 63 points, and the Sedin twins had a full two seasons left before their retirement.

Bettman also confirmed that the NHLers would be back at the next two IIHF Olympic Games set to take place in 2026 and 2030.

February 2   |   797 answers
MAJOR | Gary Bettman makes a huge announcement on an upcoming event

Do you like that the NHLers are going to be back to IIHF events?

Yes68886.3 %
No10913.7 %
Latest 10 stories